If you don't want to chat with someone in Google Chat, you can block and report them. You can block direct messages, or block people in spaces and most group messages.
- If you use a Google Workspace account and the person you blocked is in your organization, they can still tell when you're online.
- The person you blocked can't send you messages. For them to send you a message, you need to unblock them.
- The messages of a person you’ve blocked are hidden from you in spaces and group messages. You can unhide messages you want to find.
- A person you’ve blocked can still read any messages sent to the space.
- You and the person you blocked can’t edit any old messages to one another.
- The person is also blocked in certain other Google services.
- Links or attachments the person sent before you blocked them are still active.
- If you report someone for abuse, a copy of the last 50 messages of your conversation is sent to Google for review.
- You can download messages from a blocked user from your Google Account. Learn how to download your Google data.
In Google Chat or Gmail, you can choose to:
Block someone in Chat or Gmail
How to block & report someone in Chat
- On your computer, open Google Chat or Gmail.
- In Gmail: On the left, click Chat.
- In your conversation list, next to someone’s name, click More options
Block & Report.
- If you have a work or school account and the person is in your organization, this option is Block.
- Optional: To report someone for abuse, check the box next to "Report to Google."
- If you have a work or school account, you can only report people outside your organization.
- To confirm, click Block.
Unblock someone in Chat or Gmail
- On your computer, open Google Chat or Gmail.
- Choose an option:
- In Chat, at the top, click Settings
Manage blocked users.
- In Gmail, at the top, click Settings
See all settings
Chat and Meet. Then click Manage chat settings
Access Restrictions
Manage blocked users.
- In Chat, at the top, click Settings
- Select the person from the suggestions.
- Click Unblock
.
Block & report a direct message
You can choose to block a 1:1 direct message or a group direct message rather than block a person. You can also block and report a space.
- On your computer, open Google Chat or Gmail.
- In Chat, next to the conversation name, click More options
Block & Report.
- If you have a work or school account, this option is “Block this conversation.”
- Optional: To report the conversation for abuse, check the box next to “Report this space as spam or abuse.”
- If you have a work or school account, you can only report people outside your organization.
-
To confirm, click Block.
Block or unblock someone in a direct message or space
Important: You can block someone in the same conversation without messaging them directly.
- On your computer, open Google Chat or Gmail.
- In Chat, open a conversation.
- At the top, click the direct message or space name
View members.
- In spaces, click the space name
Manage members.
- In spaces, click the space name
- Next to the person's name, click More options
Block or Unblock.
Tip: To hide someone's messages after you block them in a space, you may need to refresh your browser.
Block an app creator
If an app is spammy or abusive, you can block its creator. You’ll need their email address, which is available in the app’s warning badge.
Important: You can only block unverified, consumer-built chat apps that are not published to Google Workspace Marketplace.
Find the developer’s email address
- In an app message in Google Chat, select the "Unverified app" warning badge.
- Hover over the warning badge and you’ll see the creator’s email address in a popup message.
Use the email address to block
1. Click the space name Manage members.
2. On the "Space members" page, locate the email address of the app creator.
3. Next to the app creator’s name, select
Block.